IETA LIVE Series - Rowing in the Same Boat: How Carbon Markets and Climate Finance Work Together to Deliver Net Zero?

  • 21 Apr 2021
  • 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
  • Virtual Event

         


April 21, 2021

11am-12:30pm New York / 4pm-5:30pm London / 5pm-6:30pm Geneva

Registrations HERE

Co-hosted by IETA, CMIA and Verra
Part of the US Climate Action Week

Finance is critical to accelerating the transition to a low-carbon, equitable and climate-resilient economy. While public sector flows are growing substantially, private flows still lag behind with only a small percentage of invested assets targeting the climate transition. Until recently, the main channels for private capital investment have been markets relying on carbon pricing and trading (e.g. EU ETS, WCI, China), and those relying on capital allocation based on designated “use of proceeds” (e.g. green bonds, loans). But now, we’re witnessing a surge of institutional investors and banks that have started to align activities with net zero and goals of the Paris Agreement. Bringing together a diverse panel of leading industry, market and finance experts, this event will map-out where carbon markets and climate finance intersect; unpack their critical and symbiotic relationship; and reveal how they can work together to decarbonize the world’s largest emitting sectors of the economy.