IETA LIVE Series – De-Risking Article 6 for Business: Challenges and Proposed Solutions

  • 11 May 2021
  • 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM
  • Virtual Event


10:30am-12pm New York / 3:30-5:00pm London / 4:30-6:00pm Geneva

Hosted by IETA

Registrations HERE

With the support of the Children’s Investment Fund Foundation, IETA has been working with Pollination to assess the potential legal risks in Article 6 transactions. We have produced a ‘Legal Gap Analysis’ for Article 6 transactions, aiming to identify the current legal risks for transacting in this novel space, with particular attention to the risks faced by private sector players. This work seeks to establish a common view of the legal steps involved in an Article 6 transaction, identify investor risks associated with each step and propose a variety of mitigation measures. This event will present the key takeaways from our analysis and will discuss them with a panel of market experts and practitioners.

Welcome & Introductory Remarks: Dirk Forrister, President & CEO - IETA

Moderator: Stefano De Clara, Director, International Policy - IETA

Presentation of the Article 6 Legal Gap Analysis:
. Rick Saines, Partner - Pollination
. Marisa Martin, Executive Director - Pollination

Discussants:
. Kelley Kizzier, Associate Vice President, International Climate - Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)
. Chandra Shekhar Sinha, Adviser, Climate Change Group, Sustainable Development Practice - World Bank
. Amy Steen, Legal Officer - UNFCCC
. Lisa DeMarco, Senior Partner and CEO - Resilient