IETA LIVE Carbon Markets Series - IETA Council Task Group on Integrity in Digital Climate Markets: Presentation of Findings

  • 26 Apr 2022
  • 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Virtual Event



IETA LIVE Carbon Markets Series - IETA Council Task Group on Integrity in Digital Climate Markets: Presentation of Findings

April 26, 2022

3:00 PM - 4:00 PM CET / 9:00 AM - 10:00 EST / 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM London time

REGISTER HERE

The Task Group hosted a series of sessions to take stock of recent digital market developments and enabled a frank exchange of views. It focused discussions on a set of four questions outlined below:

1. What are the opportunities for digital tools (digital monitoring/reporting/verification, distributed ledger technology and/or tokenized carbon credits) to improve market efficiency and broaden market access to new and developing parties?

2. What consumer and other risks should digital offerings address in providing new market services?

3. How do digital offerings in the carbon market relate to the Article 6 guidance agreed at COP 26 in Glasgow – and how can they be used to deliver the goals and objectives of the Paris Climate Agreement?

4. What market integrity guardrails and/or regulatory requirements should IETA recommend for digital market participants and service providers?

The Task Group will host a webinar on April 26, 2022 to provide initial findings and present draft recommendations on the integrity principles.

Speakers:

Welcome Remarks: Dirk ForristerPresident & CEO – IETA

Moderator: Brett OrlandoSenior Advisor – IETA

Speakers:

  • Mary GradyExecutive Director – American Carbon Registry
  • Lisa DeMarcoSenior Partner & CEO – Resilient LLP
  • Rick SainesPartner – Pollination
  • Jonathan ShopleyManaging Director – Natural Impact Partners