Upcoming events

IETA announces new board members at Annual General Meeting

15 Nov 2016 6:27 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

MARRAKECH, November 15 — At its Annual General Meeting yesterday in Marrakech, IETA named two new board members and announced the appointment of its first China Representative.

Joining the board is Sung-Woo Kim, Regional Head of Climate Change and Sustainability in Asia Pacific at KPMG. Mr. Kim is a leader in the region on carbon markets and climate finance. He is also the first South Korean member of IETA’s board.

“The appointment of Sung-Woo is an important signal for the South Korean carbon market,” Dirk Forrister, IETA’s CEO said today. “He has been an active member of our South Korean Working Group and is also active with the Green Climate Fund.”

Also joining the board is Jeanne Ng, Director of Group Sustainability at China Light & Power. She is a former member of IETA’s council, and presently works with the association’s China Working Group.

“China Light & Power is represented in a number of Asia Pacific nations,” Forrister said. “Jeanne will help us build Chinese carbon markets leadership in the future.”

Meanwhile, IETA has appointed Li Min as its first China Representative from December 1. Li Min joins IETA from Blue World Carbon Capital, where she developed a strong understanding of China’s developing carbon market. Li Min also has extensive business development experience working in the Kyoto Protocol’s Clean Development Mechanism.

Min Li also has valuable experience of working with China’s NDRC on the country’s Agenda 21. More recently, she worked with GTZ on capacity-building in China.

“We’re very pleased to have Li Min joining us at such an important time for China’s emissions market,” Dirk Forrister, IETA’s CEO, said today. “A new system will need time to grow and develop, and we’re confident she will help IETA to be a robust advocate for the Chinese market going forward.”

The meeting also reappointed the following Council members:

  • Scott Weaver – AEP
  • Paul Dawson – RWE
  • Christine Faure-Fedigan – Engie
  • David Hone – Shell
  • Abyd Karmali – Bank of America / Merrill Lynch
  • Rick Saines – Baker McKenzie
  • Jonathan Shopley, Natural Capital Partners
  • Ed Ma – Suncor Energy

IETA will also announce the appointment of a new EU Policy Director in the near future.

The Association’s Council also decided to honour three new IETA fellows for their contribution to the organisation and its mission.

John Kilani, the former Head of Sustainable Development Mechanisms at the UNFCCC;

Bruce Braine, former vice-president of American Electric Power and a former chairman of the board of IETA; and

Ken Newcombe, formerly of the World Bank, Climate Change Capital and Goldman Sachs.

Contact Us
Office: +41 22 737 05 00

© Copyright 1999-2021, IETA. All rights reserved.     |      PRIVACY POLICY