IETA is guided by a talented Board of Directors, made up of business leaders fromĀ  across the spectrum of our Member Companies




The International Emissions Trading Association emerged from the United Nations Conference on Trade And Development (UNCTAD) Policy Forums on greenhouse gas emissions trading in 1999. It started as a result of cooperation between UNCTAD and the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD).

IETA received legal non-profit status from the government of Switzerland in June 2000, and received United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) non-governmental organization accreditation in October 2000.

IETA is a membership organization where all members have one vote, used at the Annual General Meeting and any Extraordinary General meetings. Half of IETA's 18 Board members are elected each year. IETA's Articles and Rules are accessible from this page. Other material on governance is in the member area of this website.


IETA Board of Directors

IETA Chairman

Bruce Braine
Vice President, Strategic Planning & Analysis

IETA Vice Chairpersons

Rick Saines
Baker McKenzie

Paul Dawson
Head of Regulatory Affairs
RWE Supply and Trading


Daniele Agostini, Head of Low Carbon Policies and Carbon Regulation, Enel

Matthew Bateson, Global Practice Leader for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Rio Tinto

Arthur Lee, Fellow and Principal Advisor, Environment and Climate Change, Chevron

Giles Dickson, VP Environmental Policies & Global Advocacy,  Alstom

Christine Faure-Fedigan, Director, Corporate Climate Policy, GDF Suez

David Hone, Chief Climate Change Adviser, Shell International Petroleum

Takashi Hongo, Senior Fellow, Mitsui Global Strategic Studies Institute

Abyd Karmali, Managing Director and Global Head of Carbon Markets, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Madlen King,  Global head of climate change and sustainability, LRQA

Ed Ma, Senior Strategy Advisor, Energy & Climate Change Policy, Suncor Energy Services Inc.

Scott McGregor, CEO, Camco Clean Energy

Jonathan Shopley, Managing Director and External Affairs, Carbon Neutral Company

Geoff Sinclair, Head of Carbon Trading, Standard Bank

Bill Tyndall, Senior Vice President, Federal Government and Regulator Affairs, Duke Energy

Karl Upston-Hooper, General Counsel of GreenStream Network plc.

Honorary Member

Andrei Marcu, Senior Advisor and Head of the Carbon Market Forum, Centre for European Policy Studies;
Former IETA President & CEO


IETA Fellows

Dirk Forrister

Bill Kyte

Joan MacNaughton

Sir Charles Nicholson

Bob Page

Gudmundur Sigurdthorsson

Marc Stuart

Skip Willis


President & CEO

Dirk Forrister

powered by MemberClicks