IETA AGM elects new Council Leadership

GENEVA, 15 November – At its Annual General Meeting on November 9, the International Emissions Trading Association elected a slate of Council members, with Lisa DeMarco as the new Chair of its governing Council, and Enric Arderiu and Mary Grady as Vice Chairs.

Lisa DeMarco is the first woman to serve as IETA Council Chair. She is a senior partner at Resilient LLP, based in Toronto, Canada, and has more than two decades of experience in law, regulation, policy and advocacy relating to energy and climate change.

“I am delighted to lead the IETA Council in this critically important time, when national and corporate net zero plans are enhancing integrity and ambition,” said Ms. DeMarco. “With a potential breakthrough on Article 6, IETA’s work in scaling up ambition through markets will become critical in attracting private sector finance to fully implement the Paris Agreement.”

Mary Grady is CEO of the American Carbon Registry, and Enric Arderiu is global head of environmental products at Mercuria.

IETA also honoured Jos Delbeke and Mary Nichols as IETA Fellows for their leadership in market-based climate policies. This appointment is IETA’s highest honour for leaders who have made an outstanding contribution to carbon

Jos led the development and operation of the EU ETS during his time as Director General of the European Commission’s Directorate General of Climate.

Mary was the longstanding Chair of the California Air Resources Board, where she led the development and implementation of California’s climate law and emissions trading programme, including its market linkage with Quebec.

The AGM elected 4 new Council members:

Leslie Durschinger, Terra Global Capital

Leslie founded Terra Global Capital in 2006 to promote results-based approaches to sustainable landscape management through climate smart agricultural and reducing deforestation. She is Chair of IETA’s Natural Climate Solutions Working Group. Based in San Francisco, she brings deep experience in climate and finance.

Enric Arderiu, Mercuria

Enric is the Global Head of Environmental Products at Mercuria in Geneva, Switzerland. He leads a global team covering a range of environmental products both in compliance and voluntary markets. Previously, he served on the IETA Board in his capacity as BP’s carbon trading head.

Belinda Ellington, Citigroup

Belinda is Managing Director and General Counsel at Citi, based in London, where she leads the Global Commodities legal team and ESG in Global Markets legal support. Belinda has been involved in the carbon markets since pre-launch of the EUETS in 2005, the original World Bank Prototype fund, the CDM and JI mechanisms and the secondary markets in all types of emissions and renewables certificates globally.

Ingrid Parramon, BP

Ingrid is the Vice President for Low Carbon Trading at bp in London. She heads up a team looking at compliance and voluntary carbon markets. Ingrid joined BP in 2004 and traded physical and financial oil products in Europe and Africa. Prior to her current job, Ingrid managed the origination team focusing on cross-commodity deals.

The following 7 Council members were re-elected to a two-year term, reflecting IETA’s global reach:

Daniele Agostini, Enel Group (Italy)

Federico DiCredico, ACT Financial Solutions (The Netherlands)

Jonathan Grant, Rio Tinto (United Kingdom)

Arthur Lee, Chevron (US)

Takashi Hongo, Mitsui (Japan)

Liv Rathe, Norsk Hydro (Norway)

Hendrik Rosenthal, CLP (Hong Kong)